Skip to main content

Ireland’s Statutory, Independent Electoral Commission

Constituency Review Submission from Christy McDonnell

Christy McDonnell

Submission ID: S381




Dublin Mid-West

Search submissions

To whom it may concern,

Please see below  


The neighbouring villages of Rathcoole, Saggart, Brittas and Newcastle are situated in Dublin Mid West.

Community events:

  • They collaborate on community projects, including Tidy Towns initiative, right throughout the year.
  • The Rathcoole Community Centre is the only current functioning Community Centre for the 4 villages and hosts events, classes and groups from right across the 4 Districts.
  • Rathcoole hosts a 4 Districts Senior Citizens Christmas Party every year for residents throughout Newcastle, Rathcoole, Saggart and Brittas.  
  • A 4 Districts Family Fun Day takes place in the Rathcoole Community Centre for younger families throughout the areas.


  • The primary schools in Brittas, Saggart and Newcastle are all feeder schools for the Rathcoole secondary school.

Public Transport:

  • The villages of Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle are all linked to the urban centre of Clondalkin through their local bus route: 68 and 69.


The community spirit of these rural villages makes it a truly unique place in Dublin and I would ask that the Electoral Commission ensure that the four villages are kept in the same constituency.


Christy McDonnell

Chairperson of Rathcoole Community Council

Search submissions