Skip to main content

Ireland’s Statutory, Independent Electoral Commission

An Coimisiún Toghcháin is a statutory, independent body, established on 9 February 2023 with responsibility for a broad range of electoral functions set out in the Electoral Reform Act 2022. An Coimisiún is central to Ireland’s electoral system, carrying out a range of existing electoral functions, including: An Coimisiún is also tasked with several new … Continued

Read more
Woman with red unbrella walking to polling station

Members of the Commission

The Commission is made up of 7 members. The chairperson is Justice Marie Baker, who was nominated by the Chief Justice. There are four ordinary members of the Commission who were appointed…

Read more


  • An Coimisiún Toghcháin Established

    An Coimisiún Toghcháin has been established under the Electoral Reform Act 2022. The Bill was presented to the Houses of the Oireachtas on March 30, 2022 and signed into law on July 25, 2022. Find out more on the Oireachtas website. Read more
  • Dáil and European Parliament Constituency Review

    The Electoral Commission in accordance with section 56 of the Electoral Reform Act 2022 and following the publication of the 2022 Census Preliminary results is to make a report and recommendations in relation to the constituencies for (a) the election of members to the Dáil and (b) the election of members of the European Parliament. Read more
  • Constituency Review Submissions

    Read the public submissions to the Constituency Review now underway. You have until 10th May to share your views on how Ireland’s Dáil and European Parliament constituencies should be made up. These submissions will be updated regularly Read more