Skip to main content

Your Vote is Your Voice

Constituency Review Submission from Deputy Alan Dillon T.D.

Deputy Alan Dillon T.D.

Submission ID: S32





Search submissions

Dear Members of the Electoral Commission,

I am writing in my capacity as an elected Teachta Dála (TD) for the Mayo constituency, to formally request your consideration in reporting on the composition and boundaries of Ireland’s Dáil Éireann, particularly with respect to the Mayo Constituency. I believe it is of paramount importance that the county boundary be reinstated, and South Mayo’s rights and identity be respected.

The new constituency of Galway West established in 2013, has had detrimental effects on the people of South Mayo. The inclusion of this region in the Galway West constituency has diluted its identity and disregarded the historical and cultural contributions of South Mayo to our great county of Mayo.

The results of the 2022 Census are expected to reveal a rise in the county’s population, further highlighting the need to reassess the current constituency boundaries. Having Mayo TDs straddling two local authority areas is neither feasible nor efficient for managing representations. This administrative challenge places undue strain on our elected representatives and their constituents.

As such, I propose that the old Mayo constituency be reinstated with five TDs, ensuring that the rights of the people of South Mayo are respected and their voices are properly heard. Areas such as Cong, Cross, The Neale, Kilmaine, Gortjordan, Ballycushion, Shrule, Glencorrib, and Killroe need to be brought back to vote in Mayo for the next general election.

The majority of the Mayo people in Galway West have an affinity to Mayo County Council and current Mayo TDs. It is vital that we acknowledge and respect this connection by re-establishing the county boundary and reinstating the Mayo constituency as it once was.

In conclusion, I urge An Coimisiún Toghcháin to consider the concerns and requests outlined in this submission, and to rectify the current division of Mayo by reinstating the county boundary and re-establishing the Mayo constituency with five TDs. This action will ensure that the rights and identity of the people of South Mayo are respected, and that the challenges faced by elected representatives in managing two local authority areas are properly addressed.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. I look forward to your response and your careful consideration of the points raised in this submission.

Yours sincerely,

Alan Dillon

Teachta Dála (TD) for the Mayo Constituency

Search submissions