Skip to main content

Ireland’s Statutory, Independent Electoral Commission

Constituency Review Submission from Fergus O’Rourke

Fergus O’Rourke

Submission ID: S492




Dublin Central, Dublin West

Search submissions

To the Electoral Commission:

Dear Sir/Madam,

The Ashtown A, Ashtown B and Phoenix Park electoral divisions are currently part of the Dublin West Dáil Constituency.

I propose that these areas be added to the Dublin Central constituency because the communities in these electoral divisions have a greater affinity with the current Dublin Central area than the other parts of the Dublin West area.   Many residents of Ashtown A and Ashtown B are originally from the Cabra area and have family members there. Many residents of Ashtown A and Ashtown B travel to the existing Dublin Central area for education, work and recreational purposes.

The boundaries between the Ashtown A/B and the Cabra West A/C/D electoral divisions comprise suburban streets including Nephin Road and Skreen Road where houses on one side are currently in Dublin Central and houses on the other side in Dublin West.  The boundaries with the Castleknock-Park electoral division comprise:

  • the Ashtown Roundabout  
  • Castleknock Road which contains no houses 
  • Ashtown Road/Mill Lane which face onto agricultural land and an industrial estate in Dublin West.  

The boundary between the Ashtown A/B and Castleknock-Park electoral divisions would comprise a more logical Dáil Constituency boundary.

Yours Sincerely,

Fergus O’Rourke

Search submissions