Skip to main content

Ireland’s Statutory, Independent Electoral Commission

The current management team of the Electoral Commission consists of:

Art O’Leary was appointed Chief Executive Officer by Cabinet decision on 30 May 2023. He was previously Secretary General to the President, Secretary to a number of Citizens’ Assemblies and worked in the Houses of the Oireachtas for 20 years.

Karen Kehily, Head of Corporate Governance, is a qualified accountant (ACMA) and has had held a number of corporate services, governance and financial management positions in both the public and private sectors.

Mary Clare O’Sullivan, Head of Electoral Integrity, has worked on policy analysis and development across a range of areas in the Department of the Taoiseach and served as Secretary to the Citizens’ Assembly on Gender Equality.

Tim Carey, Head of Electoral Operations, has worked in local authority, civil service and private sector organisations in a variety of areas including communications, corporate services, culture and heritage.